USC’s Caleb Williams, Tuli Tuipulotu Pac-12 gamers of 12 months

After a stellar turnaround season at USC, the Pac-12 Convention anointed two Trojans, quarterback Caleb Williams and defensive finish Tuli Tuipulotu, as its offensive and defensive gamers of the 12 months, whereas the coach who engineered that return to prominence was snubbed.

Lincoln Riley was among the many few key figures in USC’s season who weren’t honored among the many convention’s greatest. 5 Trojans — Williams, Tuipulotu, wideout Jordan Addison, guard Andrew Vorhees and cornerback Mekhi Blackmon — have been named to the All-Pac-12 first group. Three have been on the second group — working again Travis Dye, heart Brett Neilon and security Calen Bullock — and 4 have been honorable mentions.

UCLA had two gamers chosen to the primary group in working again Zach Charbonnet and defensive lineman Laiatu Latu. Two extra Bruins have been chosen for the second group — linebacker Darius Muasau and offensive lineman Atonio Mafi, together with 4 honorable mentions, amongst them quarterback Dorian Thompson-Robinson.

As the favourite to win the Heisman Trophy this weekend, Williams was a no brainer because the Pac-12’s high offensive participant. After transferring from Oklahoma final February, he was instrumental in main USC to an 11-2 report as he racked up a school-record 48 whole touchdowns. His 4,447 whole yards, additionally a college report, rank fourth within the nation.

Williams is the second consecutive USC participant to earn the dignity, after wideout Drake London received final 12 months.

Tuipulotu is the second USC participant to win defensive participant honors within the final three years, after security Talanoa Hufanga took the award throughout the pandemic-shortened 2020 season.

After incomes first-team All-Pac-12 honors final season, Tuipulotu was a pressure alongside USC’s defensive position as a junior, tallying 12½ sacks to guide the nation.

It may’ve been a clear sweep of the awards for USC, however whereas Riley is a candidate for nationwide coach of the 12 months, the Pac-12 selected Oregon State’s Jonathan Smith and Washington’s Kalen DeBoer to share its award, the primary time that’s occurred since 2015.

A USC coach hasn’t received since 2006, when Pete Carroll earned the dignity for the second consecutive season. The 12 months earlier than, he shared the award with Karl Dorrell, the one Bruins coach to win it over the past twenty years.