Darrelle Revis, Devin Hester headline Hall of Fame Class of 2023 finalists

One of many prime shutdown corners in NFL historical past and maybe the best returner to ever play the sport are amongst 15 finalists chosen for the Professional Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2023, it was introduced on Wednesday.

Cornerback Darrelle Revis and cat-quick return man Devin Hester headline a listing that features three different defensive backs in security Darren Woodson and cornerbacks Ronde Barber and Albert Lewis. 

Different defensive gamers on the gold jacket finalist record are edge rushers DeMarcus Ware, Dwight Freeney and Jared Allen, together with linebackers Patrick Willis and Zach Thomas.

Receivers Torry Holt, Reggie Wayne and Andre Johnson made the lower. Becoming a member of them are offensive lineman Willie Anderson and Joe Thomas. 

Freeney, Revis and Thomas are finalists of their first yr of eligibility, whereas Johnson, Allen, Hester and Ware are of their second yr. 

Revis was a four-time first-team All-Professional and six-time Professional Bowl choice throughout his 11 seasons within the NFL, eight of which had been spent with the New York Jets. He additionally received a Tremendous Bowl with the New England Patriots in the course of the 2014 season. 

Hester additionally performed 11 seasons within the NFL, together with eight with the Chicago Bears. He holds the NFL report for many landing returns on particular groups with 20 (14 punts, 5 kickoffs, one missed subject aim).

Chosen within the second spherical of the 2006 draft out of Miami, Hester was voted to 3 Professional Bowls, received 13 particular groups participant of the week awards and was voted to the NFL’s All-Decade Group of the 2000s. 

Gamers will need to have participated in 5 consecutive NFL seasons to be thought of and nominated for election to the Professional Soccer Hall of Fame. 


  • Jared Allen
  • Willie Anderson
  • Ronde Barber
  • Dwight Freeney
  • Devin Hester
  • Torry Holt
  • Andre Johnson
  • Albert Lewis
  • Darrelle Revis
  • Joe Thomas
  • Zach Thomas
  • DeMarcus Ware
  • Reggie Wayne
  • Patrick Willis
  • Darren Woodson

Along with the modern-day participant finalists, Don Coryell was nominated by the coach/contributor committee and three gamers had been nominated by the senior committee: linebacker Chuck Howley, defensive deal with Joe Klecko and quarterback Ken Riley. 

Last voting for the Professional Soccer Hall of Fame will happen later this month by a 49-person choice committee prematurely of Tremendous Bowl LVII in Glendale, Arizona. The category will likely be introduced reside on the “NFL Honors” telecast scheduled to air Feb. 9. 

The Professional Soccer Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023 will likely be enshrined Aug. 5 in Canton, Ohio.

High tales from FOX Sports activities:

Eric D. Williams has reported on the NFL for greater than a decade, protecting the Los Angeles Rams for Sports activities Illustrated, the Los Angeles Chargers for ESPN and the Seattle Seahawks for the Tacoma Information Tribune. Comply with him on Twitter at @eric_d_williams.

Get extra from Nationwide Soccer League Comply with your favorites to get details about video games, information and extra