Darrelle Revis amongst 1st-year eligible HOF semifinalists

CANTON, Ohio — 4-time All-Professional cornerback Darrelle Revis is one in every of 5 first-year eligible gamers amongst 28 modern-day semifinalists for the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame’s class of 2023.

Becoming a member of Revis as candidates for induction are offensive linemen Jahri Evans and Joe Thomas, defensive lineman Dwight Freeney and linebacker James Harrison. Every final performed within the 2017 season.

Henry Ellard and London Fletcher are semifinalists for the primary time. Albert Lewis, a semifinalist in 2013, can be on the checklist. Ellard, who retired following the 1998 season, and Lewis, who additionally retired in 1998, are of their remaining 12 months of eligibility as modern-era gamers.

Torry Holt returns for the ninth time, Hines Ward and Darren Woodson are semifinalists for the seventh time and Ronde Barber makes the checklist for the sixth time. Zach Thomas is a fifth-timer and James Willis and Reggie Wayne are again for a fourth time.

Eric Allen, Jared Allen, Willie Anderson, Anquan Boldin, Rodney Harrison, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson, Robert Mathis, Steve Smith Sr., Fred Taylor, DeMarcus Ware, Ricky Watters and Vince Wilfork full the checklist.

The 28 semifinalists will probably be diminished to fifteen finalists earlier than the ultimate voting course of in January. The inductees will probably be introduced on Feb. 9 throughout NFL Honors, the prime-time awards present when The Related Press reveals its particular person award winners for the 2022 NFL season, together with Most Invaluable Participant and Coach of the Yr.

4 finalists beforehand introduced are Don Coryell within the teaching class, and Chuck Howley, Joe Klecko and Ken Riley within the senior class.