Bennett, Williams, Duggan, Stroud named finalists for Heisman

Georgia’s Stetson Bennett, USC’s Caleb Williams, TCU’s Max Duggan and Ohio State’s C.J. Stroud have been introduced Monday because the Heisman Trophy finalists.

The 4 quarterbacks, who play for 4 of the highest 10 groups this season, together with three that may play within the Faculty Soccer Playoff, can be in New York for the Heisman ceremony Saturday.

USC’s Williams is the odds-on favourite (-2500) to take residence the award even after the Trojans have been eradicated from the Faculty Soccer Playoff after a loss to Utah within the Pac-12 championship recreation Friday. The sophomore, who transferred to USC from Oklahoma after the Trojans employed Lincoln Riley, surpassed 4,000 passing yards this season and had 37 touchdowns, tied for essentially the most within the nation.

Duggan, who led TCU to an undefeated common season, threw for 3,321 yards and 30 touchdowns this season in addition to solely 4 interceptions. The senior out of Iowa will lead the Horned Frogs towards Michigan within the Fiesta Bowl, with the winner heading to the nationwide title recreation.

The Peach Bowl semifinal will characteristic the opposite two Heisman finalists dealing with off towards one another in Bennett and Stroud.

Bennett returned to Georgia for his senior season after main the Bulldogs to a nationwide title and threw for 3,425 yards and 20 touchdowns for his encore.

Stroud was a Heisman finalist final season and completed fourth. This season, Stroud threw for 3,340 yards and 37 touchdowns — tied for essentially the most within the nation alongside Williams.

Quarterbacks have dominated the award lately, successful 18 instances since 2000 and taking residence 5 of the previous six trophies. In 2020, Alabama’s DeVonta Smith was the primary vast receiver to win the Heisman since Desmond Howard in 1991.

Final season, Alabama’s Bryce Younger turned the primary Tide quarterback to win the award. Regardless of throwing for 3,007 yards and 27 touchdowns this season, Younger was not nominated.

The Heisman Trophy can be offered Saturday in New York (8 p.m. ET, ESPN).